FirstEnergyAll-American Soap Box Derby Countdown

Candidates may be considered for induction into the Soap Box Derby Hall of Fame on the basis of significant contributions to the program by dedicating years of service to the organization, or as an ambassador, promoting the betterment of the sport and its participating young persons, or by supporting the youth racing program through financial or sponsorship contribution, enabling the continued growth of the youth racing program.

       2017 Hall of Fame Inductees

Ken Cline 2017

        Ken Cline
      Ilano, Texas 

Ken Cline, 63, first raced in Midland, Texas, in 1965.  After his family moved to Lincoln, Neb., he won the race there in 1967, and went on to win the 30thAll-American Soap Box Derby that year. His unique narrow body, needle-nose racecar also earned the best design honor. Cline later was director of the Lincoln race and, after moving to Chicago, helped organize the Greater Chicago Soap Box Derby in 1986, and later served as its director. He became a regional director for Midwest states in 1990. Cline was part of the team which developed and designed the Stock Car introduced in 1992, that is still in use today to provide a ready-to-assemble car kit. He is a railroad consultant following his retirement as Chicago terminal manager of Burlington Northern Railroad. 

Mark Packard 2017

              Mark Packard 
               Rockford, Ill.  

Mark Packard, 57, won the local Soap Box Derby in Bay City, Mich., in 1971. His experience in Akron at the All-American Soap Box Derby that year turned into a lifetime passion for the Derby program. He served as a volunteer with the nearby Saginaw race, where he helped design and build the ramp and timing system at the permanent track. He later helped organize the Greater Chicago Soap Box Derby in 1986, and was its race director for five years. After moving to Rockford, he started the local Derby racing program there and was its first director. Packard also was part of the team that developed the Stock Car in 1992. He is national sales manager for a Michigan-based tool company.     

Previous Inductees

1997 - Myron E. Scott, Bain E. "Shorty" Fulton, Jim Schlemmer, Jimmy Stewart, Wilbur Shaw

1998 - John S. Knight, Mason Bell, George W. Brittain, Jim Ott, Howard Flood

1999 - Marie Wright, Ralph Barnes, Ralph Iula, Loris C. Troyer, Frank A. 'Whitey" Wahl

2000 - Bruce Buchholzer, Bob Gravett, Ron Baker

2001 - Don Lenox, Don Meech, Tom Kilroy, Ray Schieb

2002 - Bill Ford, Jack Morran, Bob Turner

2003 - Jim Underwood, Bob Troyer, Bill Kuntz

2004 - Don Adams, David J. Holly, Ira C. Sapozink, Ronald Reagan

2005 - Shirley Foster, Tony DeLuca, Paul Arnsmeyer, Roy Hartz

2006 - Bob Campbell, Herman "Tex" Finsterwald, Bruce Hunsicker, Jeff Iula

2007 - Jack Gormley, Bob McLaughlin, Jimmy Collier

2008 - Brooks Townsend, Don Huminsky, Ron Reed, Russ Kinsey

2009 - George Rodenbaugh, Akron Mayor Don Plusquellic

2010 - Norm Perry

2011 - Jerry Van Waart, Pat Taylor

2012 - Dale Russell, Millie Esque, Jack Engelke

2013 - Bill Harris, Ken Morrow, Marty Sullivan

2014 - Rick Acker, Alan Howe, Mark Scuderi

2015 - Bob Cooper, Fran Seabeck, Bud Seabeck 

2016 - Chuck Jones, John Esque, Bill Speeg