FirstEnergyAll-American Soap Box Derby Countdown

Greater Cincinnati Soap Box Derby

The Soap Box Derby is a youth racing program open to any child at least 7 year of age and 20. Children compete by driving their racers in one of three levels of gravity powered racing cars built from kits purchased from the All-American Soap Box Derby.

Congratulations to the winners of the

2016 Move it Now Local Derby Race

Stock - Everett Kokotajlo

Super Stock - James Overbeck

Img 5780

Back Row Super Stock Division LtoR 
Zander Kokotajlo - Second Place, James Overbeck - First Place, Xavier Camden - Third Place

Front Row Stock Division LtoR 
Peter Wilke - Second Place, Everett Kokotajlo - First Place, Brandon Griffith - Third Place


A message from the All-American Soap Box Derby

The Soap Box Derby is a youth racing program which has run nationally since 1934. World Championship finals are held each July at Derby Downs in Akron, Ohio.

The idea of the Soap Box Derby grew out of a photographic assignment of Dayton, Ohio, newsman Myron Scott. He covered a race of boy-built cars in his home community and was so impressed with this event that he acquired a copyright for the idea and began development of a similar program on a national scale.

National Partners

First Energy
Meggitt Aircraft Braking Systems
Pilot Flying J
Myers Industries
Akron General
Dairy Queen
Golden Corral
Taylor Made Jewelry
AKA Media
City of Akron
Akron Summit CVB
GPD Group
Summit County
Spaghetti Warehouse
Precision Garage Door
Move It Now
Huntington Bank