FirstEnergyAll-American Soap Box Derby Countdown


Port Jervis Soap Box Derby

The Port Jervis Soap Box Derby is the Largest Local Soap Box Derby.. IN THE WORLD!

2016 All Drivers
All 2016 Drivers

Elizabeth Ashley "Boo" Bisland Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship recognizes any senior, that is a current or former Port Jervis Soap Box Derby racer, for
their outstanding volunteer participation and commitment to their community while making an education
commitment and practicing good citizenship. The scholarship is for $1,000.00.

For more information and to apply for a scholarship, please download and complete the application and submit it by May 19th.
Click your preferred download file type below:

2017 Sign-Up Information

This years derby is on Sunday, June 11th.
We have two sign-up days which will be held at the Pike Street Youth Center in Port Jervis:

  1. Wednesday March 1st from 6-9pm
  2. Sunday March 5th from 12-3pm

We supply all our forms in .pdf (portable document reader) format. In order to open and print them you will need a .pdf reader. If you don't already have one, you can download the free Adobe Acrobat Reader HERE.

To assist you through the registration process, we have developed a paperwork check list. Please print ALL forms and bring them with you to registration along with ALL other necessary items on the check list:

  1. 2017 Paperwork Check List
  2. 2017 PJSBD Local Race Registration Form
  3. PJSBD Waiver/Release 2017
  4. Sponsor Release of Liability
  5. Driver Parent Acknowledgement 2017
  6. AASBD Local Race Registration Form
  7. AASBD Parent Code of Conduct

For Information Purposes:

PJSBD Driver Letter 2017
PJSBD Important Dates 2017
Car Sponsor Information Letter
AASBD 2017 Volunteer Code of Conduct

Driver Practice Dates

All practices are held at 5:30pm at the top of Jersey Avenue in Port Jervis.
Super Kids Will Not Practice May 1 or May 8.

  • Monday, May 1st (Stock Only)
  • Monday, May 8th (Super Stock & Masters Only)

Open Practices:

  • Monday, May 15th
  • Saturday, May 20th (tentative 9am-11am)
  • Wednesday, May 24th
  • Tuesday, May 30th
  • Thursday, June 1st
  • Monday, June 5th

2017 Calendar

Sign-Ups #1 Wednesday, March 1st 6pm - 9pm PJ Youth Center - Pike St, Port Jervis
Sign-Ups #2 Sunday, March 5th 12pm - 3pm PJ Youth Center - Pike St, Port Jervis
Annual Derby Ball - The Magic of Disney Saturday, April 1st 6:00pm - Midnight Erie Trackside Manor
(Contact Chris Addy 845-313-1197)
Driver Mandatory Meeting Wednesday, March 29th 6:30pm Port Jervis Middle School
Driver Practice Dates
(Super Kids Will Not Practice May 1 or May 8)
Monday, May 1st
(Stock Only)
Monday, May 8th
(SS & Masters Only)

Open Practices:
Monday, May 15th
Saturday, May 20th (tentative 9am-11am)
Wednesday, May 24th
Tuesday, May 30th
Thursday, June 1st
Monday, June 5th
5:30pm Top of Jersey Avenue
Port Jervis
Car Impound Saturday, June 10th 3:00pm - 6:00pm Top of Race Hill
Sussex Street, Port Jervis
PORT JERVIS SOAP BOX DERBY RACE DAY Sunday, June 11th Drivers report time:
Super Stock 7:30am
Masters 8:45am
Stock 10:00am
Drivers report to Top Side - Sussex St.
Championship AASBD Race Week Sun. July 16 - Sat. July 22nd All Week Akron, OH
2017 All-American Soap Box Derby Saturday, July 22nd All Day Akron, OH

A message from the All-American Soap Box Derby

The Soap Box Derby is a youth racing program which has run nationally since 1934. World Championship finals are held each July at Derby Downs in Akron, Ohio.

The idea of the Soap Box Derby grew out of a photographic assignment of Dayton, Ohio, newsman Myron Scott. He covered a race of boy-built cars in his home community and was so impressed with this event that he acquired a copyright for the idea and began development of a similar program on a national scale.

National Partners

First Energy
Meggitt Aircraft Braking Systems
Pilot Flying J
Myers Industries
Akron General
Dairy Queen
Golden Corral
Taylor Made Jewelry
AKA Media
City of Akron
Akron Summit CVB
GPD Group
Summit County
Spaghetti Warehouse
Precision Garage Door
Huntington Bank
Move It Now