FirstEnergyAll-American Soap Box Derby Countdown

Local History:

 Syracuse Soap Box Derby – History of Champions

Year        Champion                                                              Race Site

1934        Robert Cook                                                            Fayette St Hill

1335        Robert Cook                                                            Fayette St Hill

1936        Glidden Doman                                                       Fayette St Hill

1937        Onofrio DiBello                                                        Broad St Hill

1938        Robert Klink                                                            Schiller Park

1939        David Doman                                                          Schiller Park

1940        James Klink                                                             Broad St hill

1941        Lawerance Sherman                                                Broad St hill

1946        Frances Ferry                                                          Crouse Ave Hill

1947        John Googin                                                            Crouse Ave Hill

1948        James Green                                                           Crouse Ave

1949        Dick Fazio                                                               Schiller Park

1950        Dan Dombroski                                                       Schiller Park

1951        Ken Foster                                                              Schiller Park

1952        Eugene Armani                                                       Broad St

1953        Jon Foster                                                               Broad St

1954        Tom Dombroski                                                       Broad St

1963        James Klink                                                            Geddes St

1964        Joseph Herbert Jr                                                    Geddes St

1969        Steve Fayes                                                            Schiller Park

1970        Walter Hadyk                                                         Schiller Park

2005        Matthew Zerkle, Stock Division                               Geddes St

2005        Jacob Butchko Super, Stock Division                        Geddes St

2006        Josh Mattice, Stock Division                                    Geddes St

2006        Eric Coryell, Masters Division                                  Geddes St

2007        Brett Burgwin, Stock Division                                 Geddes St

2007        Matt Zerkle, Super Stock Division                           Geddes St

2008        John Zerkle, Stock Division                                     Geddes St

2008        Brett Burgwin, Super Stock Division                       Geddes St

2009        Daniel Raulli, Stock Division                                   Geddes St

2009        Emily Bozogian, Super Stock Division                     Geddes St

2010        McKenna Burgwin, Stock Division                          Geddes St

2010        Josh Mattice, Super Stock Division                         Geddes St

2011        Mickey Maruk, Stock Divison                                Geddes St

2011        McKenna Burgwin, Super Stock Division                Geddes St

2012        Tyler Bonfararo, Stock Division                             Geddes St

2012        Daniel Raulli, Super Stock Division                        Geddes St

2013        Bre Sion Hemphill, Stock Divition                          Stolp Ave

2013        Ngor Nyang, Super Stock Division                         Stolp Ave

2014        Neoan Nyang, Super Stock Division                      Geddes St

2015        Non-Sanctioned Race - No Official Champ              Stolp Ave

2016        Saleem Febus                                                      Geddes St

2016        Tyler Bonferroro                                                   Geddes St


Contact us for corrections and additions at

Memorabilia can be donated for display. We would welcome derby items from trinkets to cars.  Financial contributions are tax deductible.

Special Thanks to Andrew Susco for providing history of champions prior to 1955


The Phil Bailey Sportsmanship Award

2007 - Sam Garafano

2008 - McKenna Burgwin

2009 - McKenna Burgwin

2010 - McKenna Burgwin

2011 - Gabby Bordonaro

2012 - Sarah Haley

2013 - Martin Romero

2014 - Allisa Brown

2015 - Grace Eberst

2106 - Tyler Bonferroro


Volunteer of the Year Award

2014 - The Haley Family

2015 - Kelly Abt

2016 - The Teachers of Danforth Middle School