FirstEnergyAll-American Soap Box Derby Countdown

Local History

In 1995 the Athens Parks and Recreation Department held the first local Soap Box Derby race which consisted of 16 drivers. Since that time, Athens has been well represented by 48 champions in 3 race divisions (Stock, Super Stock, and Super Kids) at the world championships in Akron, Ohio. Cody Patterson, Aaron Vibbert and Autumn Vincent have all trophied at the world championships.  Each year over 30 drivers in the local Athens race compete to be the champion and compete in Akron.