FirstEnergyAll-American Soap Box Derby Countdown

Local History


Columbus ran its first race in 1934 and has raced continuously since 1962.  In the 40's and 50's, the race was held down Grandview Ave.  In 1962, the race was held on an unopened portion of I-71 near 5th Ave.  In 1963, the race returned to Grandview.  In 1964 and '65, the race was held on E 5th Ave between Alum Creek and N. Cassidy and in '66 on an unopened portion of I-70 near the Miller Kelton exit.   Our dedicated track in Big Run Park opened in 1967.  Our race in 2019 was the 75th running of the Columbus Soap Box Derby. Disappointingly, the 2020 race was cancelled due to COVID.

Below, we've gathered photos of nearly all our champions (click on the champion names below).  We're still on the prowl for a few missing champion photos.

And families tell their favorite derby memories here!

We hope you are inspiried to share your pics and stories as well - send to

Columbus Derby Champions

Year Stock    Super Stock Masters  
2023 Delaney Nichols Henning Lett Jack Zimmerman
2022 Henning Lett Eleni Fischer - 1st Ava Gaytan - 6th
2021 Eleni Fischer - 5th
Nathan Evans Kylie Kirk
2019 Landon Shaw - 8th Taran Harper Veronica Watson - 5th
2018 Solomon McCray - 6th Avery Evans Izzy Frazier
2017  Bailey Evans Taylor Thompson Nick Hubbell
2016  Avery Evans  Izzy Frazier Victoria Dun 
2015 Veronica Watson  Kylee Kirk Lee Ann Frazier - 4th

Kylee Kirk - 3rd

  Chris Hoyle
2013 Andrew Stoner Cole Conkel Laura Hubbell
2012 Zach Luther Laura Hubbell  
2011 Laura Hubbell  Nick Hubbell Vanessa Williamson - 2nd
2010 Nick Hubbell Vanessa Williamson  Casey Beam
2009 Elias Markley Isabelle Smith  Hannah Schweinefus - 5th
2008 Isabelle Smith  Chase Hayes Katelyn Mattix
2007 Zach Barwick  Kelly Mattix - 7th  
2006 JT Blubaugh Isiah Hayes  
2005 Kelly Mattix Taylor Thome - 2nd  
2004  Taylor Thome Marjorie Miller  Braunlyn Carter - 7th
2003  Marjorie Miller Kelsey Isford  Danielle Hughes
2002 Andy Ciammaichella  Tosha Sams Rikki Roehrenbeck
2001 Whitney Fullen - 3rd Danielle Hughes   
2000 Andrew Overfield Alyssa Roehrenbeck - 2nd  
1999 Danielle Hughes  Adam Gilbert  
1998 Erin Schroyer  Nelson Ballard  
1997 Brian Bjelovuk Anthony Schroyer  
1996 Ben Japling     
1995  Jacob Shiplet    


Year Kit Car Masters
1994 Daniel Lynch  
1993 Kimberlee Klemann - 3rd  
1992 Jasmine Sony Chrissy Thome
1991 Chrissy Thome Matt Thome
1990 Tom Agler, Jr. Tom Garloch
1989 Tom Garloch Nelson Yoder
1988 Matt Thome Dan Kirk



Year Junior Senior
1987 Nicholas Crawford Lori Romans
1986 James Romans Colin Evans
1985 Shawn Crawford - 4th Jay Compson
1984 Candy Thome Melissa Thome
1983 Melissa Thome Rebecca Romans
1982 Jeff Matthews Jeff Allen
1981 Jon Compson Dylan Evans - 5th
1980 Ann Hartman Dan Evans
1979 Todd Younkin Ricky Hartman
1978 Kelly Flicia Frank Matarrese
1977 Ricky Hartman Brian Skunza


Year Champion
1976 Ann Myers
1975 James R. Locklear
1974 Greg Hoyle
1973 James Milligan
1972 Jeff Zemolong
1971 Daniel Gardner
1970 Gary Hoyle
1969 Michael Niederlander
1968 Gregory Reger
1967 Chet Masterson
1966 John Forquer
1965 Gary Niederlander
1964 James Zientek
1963 Patrick Sergio - 6th
1962 Robert Held
1956 - 1961 no columbus races held
1955 Norm Esterbrook - 5th
1954 Keith Worster
1953 Peter Beckwith
1952 Fred Schmitthammer
1951 Jack Waldo
1950 Boyd Niederlander
1949 James Worster
1948 Duane Masters
1947 William Althoff - 7th
1946 Edward Zayac
1942 - 1945 no columbus race held
1941 Frank Hailey
1940 Donald Hinten
1939 Benjamin Evans
1938 Jack Roberts
1937 Jimmy Wren
1936 Alex Musik
1935 no columbus race held
1934 Norman Spencer