FirstEnergyAll-American Soap Box Derby Countdown


Thank You Thursday - Pilot Flying J

Pilot Flying J Dual Horizontal Rgb

Beginning in 2013 the greatest gravity racers in the world have been starting their trek down the world famous Derby Downs track in Akron, Ohio, from the Pilot Flying J starting gate. Racers from around the world reach speeds of 30 mph while piloting their Soap Box Derby cars down the 989-foot track in hopes of becoming World Champion at the annual FirstEnergy All-American Soap Box Derby.

Headquartered in Knoxville, Tennessee, Pilot Flying J is the largest operator of travel centers and travel plazas in North America with more than 650 locations throughout the United States and Canada and employee more than 24,000 team members. Pilot Flying J services over a million customers every day.

As the No. 1 seller of over-the-road diesel fuel in the nation, Pilot Flying J is ranked No. 7 among America’s Largest Private Companies by Forbes, and in addition, was ranked #37 on the Transport Topics’ Top 100 Private Carriers list in 2013.

Pilot Flying J is not merely a travel center or a convenience store, but it’s a large retail and food operation, and matches big-box stores in retail revenue and food service sales. Pilot Flying J was ranked #13 by Restaurant Finance Monitor’s “Monitor 200 Report,” and named in the “50 Most Influential Franchisees in the World” by Nation’s Restaurant News.

The Derby would like to say THANK YOU to Pilot Flying J for helping us continue our mission of building knowledge and character, and creating meaningful experiences through collaboration and fair and honest competition.

This is the 19th installment of our weekly “Thank You Thursday” feature. Each week we will offer a heartfelt “Thank You” to a corporation, civic or community leader, volunteer, foundation or an individual who has helped us continue our mission. To view previous features please click below.

Pea 7914
Racers leave the Pilot Flying J starting gate during the 2016 FirstEnergy All-American Soap Box Derby.

Ccag Car
Seniors geting ready to leave the Pilot Flying J starting gate at Senior Day presented by Cleveland Clinic Akron General. 

Track Paint Pilot Flying J
The Pilot Flying J starting gate at the
world famous Derby Downs track in
Akron, Ohio.

Thank You Thursday
Thursday, September 29, 2016 - FirstEnergy Corp.
Thursday, October 6, 2016 - Don Plusquellic
Thursday, October 13, 2016 - Bill Ginter
Thursday, October 20, 2016 - Marous Brothers Construction
Thursday, October 27, 2016 - Meggitt Aircraft Braking Systems
Thursday, November 3, 2016 - Myers Industries
Thursday, November 10, 2016 - Outgoing Board Members
Thursday, November 17, 2016 - New Board Members
Thursday. November 24, 2016 - Volunteers
Thursday, December 1, 2016 - Dairy Queen 
Thursday, December 8, 2016 - Curriculum Funders
Thursday, December 15, 2016 - SUBWAY®
Thursday, December 22, 2016 - Will Looman
Thursday, December 29, 2016 - Taylor Made Jewelry
Thursday, January 5, 2017 - Greater Akron Chamber
Thursday, January 12, 2017 - Bob Troyer
Thursday, January 19, 2017 - GPD Group
Thursday, January 26, 2017 - Former Summit County Executive Russ Pry and the County of Summit, Ohio