FirstEnergyAll-American Soap Box Derby Countdown

About Us

# Name Position E-mail
1 Jim Pike Board Director / Stock Coordinator jamespppike@msn.com
2 Tarah Isabella Board Director tarahisabella@gmail.com
3 Mark Wensel Board Director / Treasurer mwensel@gmail.com
4 Marc DeRosa Board Director / President marcjd71@gmail.com
5 Craig Steidle Board Director / Super Stock Coordinator cjsteidle@gmail.com
6 Scott Harrar Board Director sharrar@verizon.net
7 Tony Isabella Board Director / Parts  
8 Mike Miller Board Director msmiller42@comcast.net
9 Clarke Goshow Board Director clarkeamg@comcast.net
10 Pete Rodgers Board Director pete.rodgers88@gmail.com
11 Andy Spisak Board Director /Secretary ajspisak@yahoo.com
12 Debbie Loux Board Director dasl2010@comcast.net
13 Dennis Kolumber Board Director dkolumber@gmail.com
14 Bill Henning  Board Director bill@billhenning.com

INTERNATIONAL SOAP BOX DERBY

Mission Statement

The Soap Box Derby® is an international nonprofit organization whose mission is to build knowledge and character, and to create meaningful experiences through collaboration and fair and honest competition.

Core Vaules and Drivers

• Youth Education and Leadership Development
• Family Engagement and Enrichment
• Honesty, Integrity and Perseverance
• Innovation and Entrepreneurship
• Teamwork and Collaboration
• Mentoring
• Volunteerism
• Commitment to Community

The Derby is the official sanctioning body of Soap Box Derby racing and has exclusive licensing partnerships with more than 100 racing districts throughout world. These racing districts conduct sanctioned Soap Box Derby races throughout the year and qualify champs for the annual FirstEnergy All-American Soap Box Derby® World Championship race at the world famous Derby Downs Track in Akron, Ohio. 

The Derby's Education Program is a fast-growing component of the organization and includes a STEM-Based Curriculum, the Gravity Racing Challenge® STEM Team Competition and a Mini Soap Box Derby program. 

The Derby also operates the world famous Derby Downs Track in Akron, Ohio where events are held throughout the racing season.

The Board of Directors oversees the operation of the Derby, and the day-to-day activities are handled by the Headquarters staff in Akron.