FirstEnergyAll-American Soap Box Derby Countdown


Derby Board Adds New Members To The Rally Commission And Elects New Officers


The Soap Box Derby’s Board of Directors added three new members to the Rally Commission and elected officers who will serve a one-year term.

New members include Jamey Allen, Ohio, Frankie Gilmore, Virginia and Jack Kilby, Iowa.

The following officers were elected and will serve one-year terms: Brian Graham, Chair; Bill Liimatainen, Vice Chair; Lisa Carpenter, Secretary.

The following members were re-elected for a three-year term: Sally Fell, Al Garren, Bill Liimatainen.

The Rally Commission is responsible for oversight of the Rally Race Program. This includes establishing and maintaining rally race rules as well as ensuring fun, healthy and safe rally programs meet the goals of the All-American Soap Box Derby mission. The Rally Commission also handles rally rule questions and clarifications. Each July, the Rally Commission is proud to recognize the 200+ point achievers as well as regional point winners, Rally Challenge winners and Rally Championship winners during the annual award ceremony at the FirstEnergy All-American Soap Box Derby. During race week in Akron, the Rally Commission is responsible for managing the DQ Rally Challenge race, the Parents Race and assisting the Racing Commission and Regional Directors wherever possible to insure a successful race week program.