FirstEnergyAll-American Soap Box Derby Countdown


Soap Box Derby Board of Directors Elects New Officers and adds new members


The International Soap Box Derby’s Board of Directors added new members and elected new officers at its annual meeting November 12.The Board serves as the governing body of the ISBD and provides management and direction for the non-profit organization.

Kevin Thomas, Vice President at AAA Akron Auto Club, will again serve as Chair. Thomas has been a member of the Derby’s Board since 2012, and its Chair since 2014. Thomas will be joined by Carla Sibley, Director of Community Relations for Akron Public Schools, who will serve as Vice Chair; Alan Brubaker, Summit County Engineer, Treasurer; and Gregg Mervis, President & CEO, Akron/Summit Convention and Visitors Bureau and John S. Knight Center, Secretary.

Tony Troilo, Brandy Station, Va., and Pat Roberts, Akron, Ohio, are new additions to the Board. Troilo is the current President of Rosson & Troilo Motor Co., Inc. of Brandy Station and a founder of the Piedmont Area Soap Box Derby Foundation. Roberts is the Director of Gift Planning and Major Gifts at Malone University in Canton, Ohio.

Board members Michele Tomer, Attorney, Jack Engelke, Hindin/Owen/Engelke, Inc., and Danielle Kimmel, CPA, Bober, Markey, Fedorovich, are leaving the Board. Tomer, Engelke were added as Honorary Board members as well as Bobby Nickoli, longtime Derby volunteer and Chairman of the Ultimate Speed Racing Division.

“We’re excited with the additions of Tony (Troilo) and Pat (Roberts) to the Board,” said Thomas. “They each have a unique skill set that will bring us much needed expertise as we continue to promote the Derby’s mission around the world. We will miss the active and invaluable contributions of our outgoing board members, Michele (Tomer), Jack (Engelke) and Danielle (Kimmell), and look forward to their continued engagement with the Derby for years to come as champions of our mission and extraordinary volunteers to the organization.”

Current Board members include: Chair – Kevin Thomas, VP of Operations, AAA Akron Auto Club; Vice Chair – Carla Sibley, Director of Community Relations, Akron Public Schools; Treasurer – Alan Brubaker, Summit County Engineer; Secretary – Gregg Mervis, President & CEO, Akron/Summit Convention and Visitors Bureau and John S. Knight Center; Michael Callahan, Senior Partner of Callahan, Greeven, Riley & Sinn, L.L.C.; Jason Dodson, Chief of Staff for Summit County Executive; William J. Ginter, Principal, Akron Legacy Group; Todd Guilliam, Financial Adviser, Wells Fargo; Bill Lowery, Retired President, Annaco; John Moore, Director of Public Service, City of Akron; Mark Mroczynski, Executive Director, Transmission Reliability Enhancement Projects, FirstEnergy; Pat Roberts, Director of Gift Planning and Major Gifts, Malone University; Dominic Rizzo, Vice President and General Sales Manager at Rubber City Radio Group; Tony Troilo, President of Rosson & Troilo Motor Co., Inc.; Robert Troyer, Public Relations Consultant.

 The International Soap Box Derby is an international nonprofit organization whose mission is to build knowledge and character, and to create meaningful experiences through collaboration and fair and honest competition. The Derby’s Core Values and Drivers include: Youth Education and Leadership Development; Family Engagement and Enrichment; Honesty, Integrity and Perseverance; Innovation and Entrepreneurship; Teamwork and Collaboration; Mentoring; Volunteerism; and Commitment to Community. The Derby’s two youth initiatives are the FirstEnergy All-American Soap Box Derby racing program and the STEM-based Education Program, which provides educational opportunities for K-12 youth worldwide through Soap Box Derby racing. The Derby dates back to 1934, when the first All-American race was held in Dayton, Ohio.