FirstEnergyAll-American Soap Box Derby Countdown


Thank You Thursday - SUBWAY

Subway Logo

At the 2013 FirstEnergy All-American Soap Box Derby the first ever single elimination, three phase wheel swap race was conducted just for Rally Champs. The champ with the best time after three phases advanced to the next round of competition where eventually champions were crowned in the Stock, Super Stock and Masters Divisions.

The race was so successful that two years later Local Champs participating in the FirstEnergy All-American Soap Box Derby got the same opportunity to participate in a single elimination, three phase wheel swap race thanks to Northeast Ohio SUBWAY® owners.

“We really wanted to add a local challenge race to the All-American race-week schedule in 2015,” said Derby President & CEO Joe Mazur. “We’re so thankful that the SUBWAY® owners from Northeast Ohio supported the initiative and we were able to host the first SUBWAY® Challenge. Because of their support we’re now able to offer champs and families more racing opportunities during the All-American than ever before...and that’s what they want…more racing.”

Below please find a list of SUBWAY® Challenge Winners:

Subway Challenge Logo No Background

Stock - Julia Irving, Arlington, Mass.
Super Stock - Victor LaRose, Youngstown, Ohio
Masters - Joshua Ostrander, Chicago, Ill.

Stock – Ian Leyen – Silicon Valley, Calif.
Super Stock – Zachary Hiller, Cleveland, Ohio
Masters – Bailey Markowski, Cleveland, Ohio

The Derby would like to say THANK YOU to SUBWAY® restaurants owners in Northeast Ohio for helping us continue our mission of building knowledge and character, and creating meaningful experiences through collaboration and fair and honest competition.

This is the 12th installment of our weekly “Thank You Thursday” feature. Each week we will offer a heartfelt “Thank You” to a corporation, civic or community leader, volunteer, foundation or an individual who has helped us continue our mission. To view previous features please click below.

Victor Larose
2015 SUBWAY® Challenge Super Stock Champion Victor LaRose of Youngstown, Ohio.

Tony Zarrella Subway Car
Local TV Sports personality Tony Zarella of Cleveland's Channel 19 getting ready to race the SUBWAY® car in the 2015 Mayor's Cup Race.

Ian Leyen
2016 SUBWAY® Challenge Stock
Champion Ian Leyen of Silicon Valley, Calif.

Thank You Thursday
Thursday, September 29, 2016 - FirstEnergy Corp.
Thursday, October 6, 2016 - Don Plusquellic
Thursday, October 13, 2016 - Bill Ginter
Thursday, October 20, 2016 - Marous Brothers Construction
Thursday, October 27, 2016 - Meggitt Aircraft Braking Systems
Thursday, November 3, 2016 - Myers Industries
Thursday, November 10, 2016 - Outgoing Board Members
Thursday, November 17, 2016 - New Board Members
Thursday. November 24, 2016 - Volunteers
Thursday, December 1, 2016 - Dairy Queen 
Thursday, December 8, 2016 - Curriculum Funders