FirstEnergyAll-American Soap Box Derby Countdown

About Us

The New Jersey Soap Box Racing Association supports derby racing annually throughout state.  Special thanks to Hopewell Township Recreation and Public Works Departments for their support. 
Annually participants are encouraged to participate in the builders clinics, special events and pre-race activities.  Soap Box Derby Racing is available for youth ages 7-19.  The New Jersey Soap Box Racing Board is all volunteer and always looking for supporters to help with clinics/events. Please emial NJSBRA President- Denise Gutiterrez at  

Img 2770 

        Above you will find the 2016 New Brunswick Derby Champions posing with their trophies
Img 2988
Super Stock Champion George Amadeo finished 4th in the All American Soap Box Derby in Akron in 2016
Img 2966
    New Brunswick Derby staff Mike Blackwell and Tim Flynn having a great time in Akron cheering on our local champs
  Past Champs Juliane Miller and Patrick Flynn preparing one of our Super Kids for a race on Derby Day.  
Jessie Gutierrez competed in Akron as a 2018 Region 8 Rally Champ and placed 2nd in the Rally Challenge Championship Race

New Brunswick Past Local Champions:

2001 Stock-David Seamon

2002 Stock-Daniel Rivera, Super Stock-Shannon Varga

2003 Stock-Mitch Newsom, Super Stock-Forest Stranburg

2004 Stock-Gil Swenson, Super Stock-Lauren Santullo

2005 Stock-Lauren Santullo, Super Stock-Skeeter Klim

2006 Stock-Austin Friend, Super Stock-Kim Clementi

2007 Stock-Robby Goodfellow, Super Stock-CJ Clementi

2008 Stock-McKenzie Garrick, Super Stock-Issac Grube, Masters-Sophie Goodfellow

2009 Stock-Nicolas Landi, Super Stock-Maegan Cerqueira, Masters-Vincent Fresco

2010 Stock-Julianne Miller, Super Stock-Meridith Miller, Masters-Maegan Cerqueira

2011 Stock-Noah Ratliff, Super Stock-Nina Marie Amadeo, Masters-Patrick Flynn

2012 Stock-Jeffrey Clouser, Super Stock-Julianne Miller, Masters-Alex Hawkins

2013 Stock-Andrew Gonzalez, Super Stock-Sarah Flynn, Masters-Meredith Miller

2014 Stock-Hanah Lehrian, Super Stock-Ryan Pierson, Masters-Jeffrey Clouser

2015 Stock-Louis bizzoco, Super Stock-Jessie Gutierrez, Masters-Hal Conte

2016 Stock-Aiden Smith, Super Stock-George Amadeo, Masters-Ryan Pierson

2017 Stock-Ryan Amesigio, Super Stock-Alexander Gutierrez, Masters-Jessie Gutierrez
2019 Stock - Mia Aguilera, Super Stock - Nicole Woods, Master - Sophia Sheffmaker
2021 Stock - Allie Ananian, Super Stock - Mason Tramontana, Masters - Ian Jameson


Mission Statement

The Soap Box Derby® is an international nonprofit organization whose mission is to build knowledge and character, and to create meaningful experiences through collaboration and fair and honest competition.

Core Vaules and Drivers

• Youth Education and Leadership Development
• Family Engagement and Enrichment
• Honesty, Integrity and Perseverance
• Innovation and Entrepreneurship
• Teamwork and Collaboration
• Mentoring
• Volunteerism
• Commitment to Community

The Derby is the official sanctioning body of Soap Box Derby racing and has exclusive licensing partnerships with more than 100 racing districts throughout world. These racing districts conduct sanctioned Soap Box Derby races throughout the year and qualify champs for the annual FirstEnergy All-American Soap Box Derby® World Championship race at the world famous Derby Downs Track in Akron, Ohio. 

The Derby's Education Program is a fast-growing component of the organization and includes a STEM-Based Curriculum, the Gravity Racing Challenge® STEM Team Competition and a Mini Soap Box Derby program. 

The Derby also operates the world famous Derby Downs Track in Akron, Ohio where events are held throughout the racing season.

The Board of Directors oversees the operation of the Derby, and the day-to-day activities are handled by the Headquarters staff in Akron.