FirstEnergyAll-American Soap Box Derby Countdown


Thank You Thursday - Akron/Summit Convention & Visitors Bureau

Convention And Visitors Bureau

Established in 1973 to promote Akron/Summit County as an ideal destination for business and leisure travel, the Akron/Summit Convention & Visitors Bureau (ASCVB) is the clearinghouse for area travel and tourism information. As our community’s destination marketing organization, the ASCVB proudly advocates the positive impact the hospitality industry has on the local economy and our quality of life.

The International Soap Box Derby and the ASCVB work closely throughout the year to provide visitors who come in town for the FirstEnergy All-American Soap Box Derby a truly unique experience. The Derby has been fortunate to be on the receiving end of grants through the Bureau’s Partnerships in Motions Destination Development Grant Program to help promote the All-American racing program throughout the country.

In addition the ASCVB has hosted a number of events at the world famous Derby Downs Track for visiting groups to expose them to the rich history the Derby has to offer.

“We’re grateful for the relationship we have with the Akron/Summit County Convention and Visitors Bureau,” said Derby Vice President Bobby Dinkins. “The Bureau does a tremendous job promoting our area as an ideal destination for business and leisure travel and they are very helpful to our staff throughout the year.”

The Derby would like to salute the ASCVB as they celebrate National Travel and Tourism Week and say THANK YOU for helping us continue our mission of building knowledge and character, and creating meaningful experiences through collaboration and fair and honest competition.

This is the 33rd installment of our weekly “Thank You Thursday” feature. Each week we will offer a heartfelt “Thank You” to a corporation, civic or community leader, volunteer, foundation or an individual who has helped us continue our mission. To view previous features please click below. 

Thank You Thursday
Thursday, September 29, 2016 - FirstEnergy Corp.
Thursday, October 6, 2016 - Don Plusquellic
Thursday, October 13, 2016 - Bill Ginter
Thursday, October 20, 2016 - Marous Brothers Construction
Thursday, October 27, 2016 - Meggitt Aircraft Braking Systems
Thursday, November 3, 2016 - Myers Industries
Thursday, November 10, 2016 - Outgoing Board Members
Thursday, November 17, 2016 - New Board Members
Thursday. November 24, 2016 - Volunteers
Thursday, December 1, 2016 - Dairy Queen 
Thursday, December 8, 2016 - Curriculum Funders
Thursday, December 15, 2016 - SUBWAY®
Thursday, December 22, 2016 - Will Looman
Thursday, December 29, 2016 - Taylor Made Jewelry
Thursday, January 5, 2017 - Greater Akron Chamber
Thursday, January 12, 2017 - Bob Troyer
Thursday, January 19, 2017 - GPD Group
Thursday, January 26, 2017 - Former Summit County Executive Russ Pry and the County of Summit, Ohio
Thursday, February 2, 2017 - Pilot Flying J
Thursday, February 9, 2017 - Dave Hubbell
Thursday, February 16, 2017 - AAA Akron Auto Club 
Thursday, February 23, 2017 - Danny Hughes
Thursday, March 2, 2017 - Corbin Bernsen
Thursday, March 9, 2017 - Dave Lieberth 
Thursday, March 16, 2017 - Joe Mazur
Thursday, March 23, 2017 - Mary S. and David C. Corbin Foundation
Thursday, March 30, 2017 - Chris Harris
Thursday, April 6, 2017 - Northern Ohio Golf Charities & Foundation 
Thursday, April 13, 2017 - J.W. Didado Electric

Thursday, April 20, 2017 - Welty Family Foundation 
Thursday, April 27, 2017 - Fallsway Equipment Company 
Thursday, May 4, 2017 - United Way of Summit County